Syndicate content

3-cornered bypoll may test political waters

voting_0_2 (1).JPG

Chennai: The state legislative assembly secretariat is likely to notify the death of three-time legislator C. Perumal of AIADMK representing Yercaud constituency anytime now. 
With this, the state is

UDF wins 18 out of 30 seats in local bypolls

The ruling UDF virtually swept Wednesday’s local body by-elections, winning 18 of the 30 seats, the results of which were announced on Thursday.

While LDF won 10 seats, the BJP and an independent ca

YSRC leader held for firing victory shots


In typical Bihari style, YSR Congress leader H.A. Rahman opened fire in the air as a jubilant crowd hoisted him on their shoulders in front of the YSR party office at Lotus Pond in Jubilee Hills on Fr

Congress responsible for Jagan win: Naidu


Blaming the Congress for the bypoll debacle, Telugu Desam chief Chandrababu Naidu told this newspaper, “YSRC won due to the illogical statements made by (Congress incharge of AP affairs) Ghulam Nabi A

Andhra Pradesh bypolls: Ruling party touches its nadir

Wins in two Assembly segments, Narasapuram and Ramachandrapuram, have bought time for Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy and given pause to Congress MLAs who may be contemplating deserting the party.

Andhra Pradesh bypolls: Winners and runner-ups


Nellore Lok Sabha seat

* Winner: Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy

Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy trounced Congress nominee T. Subbarami Reddy by a massive margin of 2.91 lakh votes. Mekapati, who quit the Congres

TD suffers poll debacle, goes into a huddle

The Telugu Desam suffered one of its worst-ever setbacks on Friday, failing to win a single seat in the June 12 bypolls.

It came second in 10 Assembly seats but failed to retain its deposit in five

2 former PR men win, give solace to Congress

While Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy and MP Chiranjeevi were both humiliated with the Congress’ defeat in Tirupati and Allagadda, the former Praja Rajyam chief will perhaps get some solace by the

Andhra Pradesh bypolls: Jagannaut runs over Congress and Desam


Jailed Kadapa MP Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress swept the bypolls in Andhra Pradesh winning 15 out of the 18 Assembly constituencies and the Nellore Lok Sabha seat.

The ruling Congress won tw

UDF win in Neyyattinkara: Again, fillip for Oommen Chandy


The Kerala chief minister, Oommen Chandy, should now get on with his dream projects and instill confidence in the people through a tough handling of law and order as he has done by pursuing killers of

No Articles Found

No Articles Found

No Articles Found

I want to begin with a little story that was told to me by a leading executive at Aptech. He was exercising in a gym with a lot of younger people.

Shekhar Kapur’s Bandit Queen didn’t make the cut. Neither did Shaji Karun’s Piravi, which bagged 31 international awards.